Memo to Reporters: Experts available to weigh in on court’s Affordable Care Act ruling

The following University of California, Berkeley, experts are available to discuss various aspects of the U.S. Supreme Court rulings on the Obama administration’s Affordable Care Act.

ACA implementation

Stephen Shortell

Dean of UC Berkeley’s School of Public Health, expert on health policy and management
Expertise: Health policy and management, health care delivery, implementation of the ACA
Phone: (510) 643-5346
Email: Shortell@berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Sarah Yang, (510) 643-7741 or scyang@berkeley.edu.  Note that Sarah Yang is away from the office until July 5.  In her absence please call Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu.

Business

Kristiana Raube

Executive director of the Graduate Program in Health Management at the Haas School of Business
Expertise: Health care management, quality of care, health care financing and delivery
Phone: (510) 643-1399
Email: raube@haas.berkeley.edu

Haas School Media Relations contact: Pamela Tom, (510) 642-2734 or ptom@haas.berkeley.edu

Health care economics

Brad DeLong

Professor of economics
Expertise: Economics, economic history, political economy and health care reform
Email: delong@econ.berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu

Labor

Ken Jacobs

Chair of UC Berkeley’s Center for Labor Research and Education
Expertise: Author or co-author of several studies assessing impact in California of the ACA’s implementation

Phone: (510) 643-2621 (office) or (cell) (415) 516-3135
Email: Kjacobs9@berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu

Law

David Gamage

Assistant professor of law at the UC Berkeley School of Law
Expertise: Tax administration and policy. Gamage just completed two years working with the U.S. Treasury Department on tax provisions for the Affordable Care Act.

Phone: (510) 643-6116 (office) or (510) 852-9829 (cell)
Email: gamage@law.berkeley.edu

Berkeley Law Media Relations contact: Susan Gluss, (510) 642-6936 (office) or (510) 705-3366 (cell) or sgluss@law.berkeley.edu

Ann O’Leary

Lecturer at the UC Berkeley School of Law
Expertise: Health care law
Phone: (415) 689-5747
Email: Ann.oleary@tcng.org

Berkeley Law Media Relations contact: Susan Gluss, (510) 642-6936 (office) or (510) 705-3366 (cell) or sgluss@law.berkeley.edu

Politics

Terri Bimes

Lecturer in political science and author of a book on the American presidency
Expertise: National politics and the presidency.  Bimes has written about presidential rhetoric, divided government and the 2000 presidential election.
Email: bimes@berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu

Bruce Cain

Professor of political science, director of the UC Washington Center in Washington, D.C.
Expertise: State and local politics
Phone: (202) 974-6202
Email: bruce@cain.berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu

Eric Schickler

Professor of political science
Expertise: Congress, American politics and political parties
Phone: (510) 643-2933
Email: eschickler@berkeley.edu

Media Relations contact: Kathleen Maclay, (510) 643-5651 or kmaclay@berkeley.edu