News team

Berkeley News is produced daily by the media relations, editorial and strategic communications teams in the Office of Communications and Public Affairs at UC Berkeley. We welcome your comments, suggestions and story ideas.

Roqua Montez

Roqua Montez

Executive director of communications and media relations
rmontez@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3591

Roxanne Makasdjian

Roxanne Makasdjian

Director of broadcast communications
Broadcast news and documentary requests
roxannem@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-6051

Stephen McNally

Stephen McNally

Multimedia producer
smcnally@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-7843

Yasmin Anwar

Yasmin Anwar

Writer and media relations
Beats: Psychology, neuroscience, sociology, demography, social welfare, ethnic studies, women’s studies, philosophy, rhetoric
yanwar@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-7944

Kathleen Maclay

Kathleen Maclay

Writer and media relations
Beats: Anthropology, arts and humanities, business and economics, labor, city planning and architecture, education, history, information, international affairs, journalism school, languages, libraries, Mark Twain archive, politics and public policy, UC Botanical Garden
kmaclay@berkeley.edu / @kmaclay00
(510) 643-5651

Bob Sanders

Bob Sanders

Manager of science communications
Writer and media relations
Beats: Animal research, astronomy, biology, chemistry, energy, evolution, genetics, geology/earthquakes, mathematics, neuroscience, paleontology, physics
rlsanders@berkeley.edu / @bobthesciguy
(510) 643-6998

Brett Israel

Brett Israel

Manager of science communications
Writer and media relations
Beats: Engineering, computer science, transportation, nanotechnology, health, nutrition, optometry, agriculture, environment, law
brett.israel@berkeley.edu / @eastbaybrett
(510) 643-7741

Gretchen Kell

Gretchen Kell

Director of special projects and outreach
Institutional storytelling and story pitching, media relations
gkell@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3136

silouette

Barbara Boster

Editor, Berkeley in the News
bboster@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-8644

Carol Ness

Carol Ness

Editor, Berkeley News and Berkeleyan
cness@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-9259

Barry Bergman

Barry Bergman

Writer, editor, Berkeley News
bbergman@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-0705

Anne Brice

Anne Brice

Writer, digital editor, Berkeley News and Berkeley Blog
abrice@berkeley.edu / @annecbrice
(510) 643-6259