News team

Berkeley News is produced daily by the media relations, editorial and strategic communications teams in the Office of Communications and Public Affairs at UC Berkeley. We welcome your comments, suggestions and story ideas.

Roqua Montez

Roqua Montez

Executive director of communications and media relations
rmontez@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3591

Janet Gilmore

Janet Gilmore

Senior director of strategic communications
jangilmore@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-5685

Roxanne Makasdjian

Roxanne Makasdjian

Manager of broadcast communications
Broadcast news and documentary requests
roxannem@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-6051

Yasmin Anwar

Yasmin Anwar

Writer and media relations
Beats: Psychology, neuroscience, sociology, demography, social welfare, ethnic studies, women’s studies, philosophy, rhetoric
yanwar@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-7944

Kathleen Maclay

Kathleen Maclay

Writer and media relations
Beats: Anthropology, arts and humanities, business and economics, labor, city planning and architecture, education, history, information, international affairs, journalism school, languages, libraries, Mark Twain archive, politics and public policy, UC Botanical Garden
kmaclay@berkeley.edu / @kmaclay00
(510) 643-5651

Bob Sanders

Bob Sanders

Manager of science communications
Writer and media relations
Beats: Animal research, astronomy, biology, chemistry, energy, evolution, genetics, geology/earthquakes, mathematics, neuroscience, paleontology, physics
rlsanders@berkeley.edu / @bobthesciguy
(510) 643-6998

Sarah Yang

Sarah Yang

Writer and media relations
Beats: Agriculture, computer science, engineering, health, law, nanotechnology, nutrition, optometry, transportation
scyang@berkeley.edu / @sci4sarah
(510) 643-7741

Gretchen Kell

Gretchen Kell

Writer and media relations
gkell@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3136

Barbara Boster

Barbara Boster

Editor, Berkeley in the News
bboster@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-8644

Carol Ness

Carol Ness

Editor, Berkeley News and Berkeleyan
cness@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-9259

Barry Bergman

Barry Bergman

Writer, editor, Berkeley News
bbergman@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-0705

Cathy Cockrell

Cathy Cockrell

Writer, editor, Berkeley News, and Berkeley Blog editor
ccockrell@berkeley.edu / @tellmoreUCB
(510) 642-2520

Anne Brice

Anne Brice

Writer, digital assistant, Berkeley News and Berkeley Blog
abrice@berkeley.edu / @annecbrice
(510) 643-6259

Kathryn Bader

Kathryn Bader

Director, social media
klbader@berkeley.edu / @kathbader
(510) 642-6044