For 20th year, outstanding staff reap their awards

Twenty-two individual UC Berkeley staff members and the members of seven staff teams received the Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA) Monday, April 23 during a ceremony in the Clark Kerr Campus’s Krutch Theater. Chancellor Robert Birgeneau was on hand to personally congratulate each award recipient.

The COSA, one of the highest honors bestowed upon staff by Berkeley’s chancellor, recognizes and honors individual staff and teams who, in addition to performing their normal job duties with excellence, demonstrate exceptional initiative in contributing to the campus community. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the award.

Devin Woolridge

Devin Woolridge, honored for his role as "communicator and community builder" in People's Park (Jean Smith photos)

The recipients of the 2012 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Awards are:

 Individual awards

  • Alexis Bucknam, Blum Center for Developing Economies
  • Lynn Cerda Price, Goldman School of Public Policy
  • Rose Chan-Gee, Registrar’s Office
  • Don Chimpky, Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Mike Cohen, Office of Technology Licensing
  • Karen Holtermann, College of Engineering
  • Katherine Imura, Law Library
  • Gail Kaufman, Center for Educational Partnerships
  • Corinne Kosmitzki, Graduate Division
  • Belinda Kuo White, Sociology
  • Daryl Mathews, Physical Plant Campus Services
  • Lyle Nevels, Haas School of Busines
  • Hilja New, History
  • Mary Pepple, Mathematics
  • Bryce Roberts, Space Sciences Lab
  • Rebecca Sablo, Berkeley International Office
  • Shareena Samson, Mechanical Engineering
  • Michael Schneider, Biosciences Divisional Services
  • Melissa Varian, Mechanical Engineering
  • Donna Vivar, College of Environmental Design
  • Seamus Wilmot, Parking and Transportation
  • Devin Woolridge, Physical Plant Facilities Services

Team awards

  • Family Housing Administrative Team (Justine Erickson, Rosalinda Garcia, Lisa Hart, Helen Horowitz)
  • LBNL Second Campus Response (Mark Freiberg, Robert Hatheway, Kevin Hufferd, Tom Klatt, Jennifer McDougall, Kerry O’Banion, Scott Shackleton)
  • OE Meal Plan (Florence Fung, Shawn LaPean, Michael Laux, Ida Shen, Patrice Thomas)
Chancellor Birgeneau with honoree Gail Kaufman

Chancellor Birgeneau congratulates Gail Kaufman, cited as "lead architect behind the success of CAL Prep."

  • ONE Project, School of Public Health (Norma Firestone, Dion Shimatsu-Ong)
  • Physical Plant and Campus Services Executive Safety Committee (Dennis Barlow, Greg Harrington, Jeff Light, Stan Richardson)
  • Stewardship Operations Streamlining , College of Engineering (Celia Hamman-Cueto, Craig Matthew, Kristy Nordahl, Yvette Renee, Christa Schnur)
  • UC Ready Team (Karin Bliman, Adam Cohen, Gianni Carlo Contardo, Kai Hsieh, Richard Katz, Eric Liao, Simon Litvak, Lito Tejada, Tom Tsai)

Descriptions of all the award recipients’ accomplishments are available here, and an archived webcast of the ceremony can be viewed here.