Campus to remember those lost in the past year

With a bagpiper and the release of white doves, the campus will hold a solemn gathering in memory of UC Berkeley staff, students, faculty, emeriti and retirees who passed away during the last year.

The 15th annual Campus Memorial will take place Monday, Sept. 12, from noon to 1 p.m. on the lawn at the flagpole just west of California Hall. Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Carol Christ will officiate.

Those to be remembered are listed below; the list will be updated shortly before the memorial to make sure it is inclusive. If a person has been inadvertently omitted, please contact memorial organizers at The names of people remembered at last fall’s ceremony are listed here.

Academic & faculty
Joonhong Ahn, Nuclear Engineering
Thomas Alber, Molecular and Cell Biology
David Dornfeld, Mechanical Engineering
Paul Grabowicz, Journalism
Dwight Jaffee, Haas School of Business
Murray Millet, Extension
M. (Mary) Kathryn Scott, Physical Education
Edward Stack, Celtic Studies

John Kinloch Anderson, Classics
Seymour Chatman, Rhetoric, Film & Media
Diane Shaver Clemens, History
R. (Roger) David Cole, Molecular and Cell Biology
Elizabeth Colson, Anthropology
Eugene Commins, Physics
William Craig, Philosophy
Lawrence Davis, Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Stephen Diliberto, Mathematics
Donald Foley, City & Regional Planning
Walter Jackson Freeman, III, Molecular and Cell Biology
Robert Hartman, Art Practice
John Hurst, Education
John David Jackson, Physics
Stanley Mandelstam, Physics
Miles Myers, Education
Nicolas Perella, Italian Studies
Chittoor Ramamoorthy, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
William Rohwer Jr., Education
Kalanadh V. S. Sastry, Materials Science and Engineering
Howard Schachman, Molecular and Cell Biology
Howard Shugart, Physics
Hyron Spinrad, Astronomy
Robert Wiegel, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Arkady Alexeev, Slavic Languages & Literatures
Maria Beltran-Barker, University Health Services
Lonnie Booker, Office of Laboratory Animal Care
Charles (Chuck) Brien, EECS
Michele Castillo, Campus Shared Services
Patrick Fay, Cal Dining
Harvey Jackson, Natural Resources
Martin Lopez, Optometry
Laura Murphy, Quantitative Biosciences
Penny Parker, Optometry
Erica Pederson, Molecular and Cell Biology
Alfred Ram, Mail Services
Adrienne Ruff, EERCG Research Recharge
Farnaz Stosik, Campus Shared Services
Aimee Tabor, Engineering Research Centers

Graduate students
Timothy Campbell, EECS
Hussain Nasser, History

Undergraduate students
Christopher Cosby, Letters and Sciences
Tim Pieter Hendrik Vorenkamp, Letters and Sciences
Tarishi Jain, Letters and Sciences
Nicolas Leslie, Natural Resources
Hanaa Omaya Manal Djouider, Letters and Sciences
Alejandra Martinez, Letter and Sciences
Miguel Martinez, Letters and Sciences
Evan Niizawa, Chemistry
Nandan Sathyanarayana, Chemistry
Sara Seacat, Natural Resources