Campus takes a moment to honor the 78 lost over the last year

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Under gray skies and with great solemnity, the UC Berkeley campus community gathered Monday for the annual ceremony honoring students, faculty, emeriti and staff who died over the past year.

The loss of two students to terrorist attacks abroad added to the poignancy of the day, from the traditional posting of colors to the strains of the bagpipe to the release of white doves. Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Carol Christ welcomed the crowd and introduced a moment of silence.

The 78 people remembered are listed below. The names of people remembered at last fall’s ceremony are listed here.

Academic and faculty

Joonhong Ahn, Nuclear Engineering
David Dornfeld, Mechanical Engineering
Paul Grabowicz, Journalism
Dwight Jaffee, Haas School of Business
Jeremy Lys, Physics
Murray Millet, Extension
M. (Mary) Kathryn Scott, Physical Education
Edward Stack, Celtic Studies


Arkady Alexeev, Slavic Languages & Literatures
John Kinloch Anderson, Classics
Ben Bagdikian, Journalism
Seymour Chatman, Rhetoric, Film & Media
Nathan Cheung, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
Diane Shaver Clemens, History
R. (Roger) David Cole, Molecular and Cell Biology
Elizabeth Colson, Anthropology
Eugene Commins, Physics
William Craig, Philosophy
Lawrence Davis, Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Stephen Diliberto, Mathematics
Donald Foley, City & Regional Planning
Walter Jackson Freeman, III, Molecular and Cell Biology
Robert Hartman, Art Practice
John Hurst, Education
John David Jackson, Physics
James Jarrett, Education
Stanley Mandelstam, Physics
Henry Miller, Social Welfare
Miles Myers, Education
Susan Oace, Nutritional Sciences & Toxicology
Nicolas Perella, Italian Studies
Chittoor Ramamoorthy, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
William Rohwer Jr., Education
Kalanadh (Kal) V. S. Sastry, Materials Science and Engineering
Howard Schachman, Molecular and Cell Biology
Howard Shugart, Physics
Allan Sindler, Public Policy
Hyron Spinrad, Astronomy
Paul Takagi, Education
Yoshinori Tanada, Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Fernando Viteri, Nutritional Sciences & Toxicology
Robert Wiegel, Civil and Environmental Engineering


Sister Monica Asman, Natural Resources
Maria Beltran-Barker, University Health Services
Michelle Bertho, France-Berkeley Fund, Institute of European Studies
Lonnie Booker, Office of Laboratory Animal Care
Charles (Chuck) Brien, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
Denise Frances Brouillette, Extension
Michele Castillo, Campus Shared Services
Grace Dote, Natural Resources
Peter Alston Evans, Forestry
Patrick Fay, Cal Dining
Harvey Jackson, Natural Resources
Martin Lopez, Optometry
Dale Maddox, Facilities Services
Lieutenant Lawrence “Mac” Joseph McFadden, Sr., UCPD
Laura Murphy, Quantitative Biosciences
Penny Parker, Optometry
Erica Pederson, Molecular and Cell Biology
Alfred Ram, Mail Services
Richard L. Robinson, Physics Library
Adrienne Ruff, Nanofabrication Laboratory
Marie O. Stanley, Virus Laboratory
Farnaz Stosik, Campus Shared Services
Aimee Tabor, Engineering Research Centers
Larnell Wesley Taylor, Facilities Services

Graduate students

Timothy Campbell, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
Shuqin Zhang, Statistics

Undergraduate students

Christopher Cosby, Letters and Sciences
Hanaa Omaya Manal Djouider, Letters and Sciences
Tarishi Jain, Letters and Sciences
Nicolas Leslie, Natural Resources, Business Administration
Alejandra Martinez, Letter and Sciences
Miguel Martinez, Letters and Sciences
Evan Niizawa, Chemistry
Nandan Sathyanarayana, Chemistry
Sara Seacat, Natural Resources
Tim Pieter Hendrik Vorenkamp, Letters and Sciences