News team

Berkeley News is produced daily by the media relations, editorial and strategic communications teams in the Office of Communications and Public Affairs at UC Berkeley. We welcome your comments, suggestions and story ideas.

Will Kane

Will Kane

Senior director, news and content
willkane@berkeley.edu

Gretchen Kell

Gretchen Kell

Director of special projects and outreach
Institutional storytelling and story pitching, media relations
gkell@berkeley.edu

Roxanne Makasdjian

Roxanne Makasdjian

Director of broadcast communications
Broadcast media liaison, video news director/producer
roxannem@berkeley.edu

Bob Sanders

Bob Sanders

Manager of science communications
Writer and media relations
Beats: Animal research, astronomy, biology, chemistry, energy, evolution, genetics, geology/earthquakes, mathematics, neuroscience, paleontology, physics, geography
rlsanders@berkeley.edu / @bobthesciguy

Kara Manke

Kara Manke

Science writer and media relations
Beats: Engineering, computer science, agriculture, natural resources, public health, optometry, data science, transportation
kjmanke@berkeley.edu

Smiling man

Ed Lempinen

Writer and media relations
Beats: Economics, business, education, political science, law, public policy, international affairs international studies
lempinen@berkeley.edu

Ivan Natividad

Ivan Natividad

Writer and media relations
Beats: Architecture, history, environmental design, city & regional planning, ethnic studies, gender & women’s studies, African American studies, disability studies, journalism
ivan.natividad@berkeley.edu

Anne Brice

Anne Brice

Writer and podcast producer, Berkeley News
Beats: Art, theatre, dance, music, libraries, museums
abrice@berkeley.edu