News team

Berkeley News is produced daily by the media relations, editorial and strategic communications teams in the Office of Communications and Public Affairs at UC Berkeley. We welcome your comments, suggestions and story ideas.

Roqua Montez

Roqua Montez

Executive director of communications and media relations
rmontez@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3591

Will Kane

Will Kane

Editor, Berkeley News, Berkeleyan
willkane@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-6259

Gretchen Kell

Gretchen Kell

Director of special projects and outreach
Institutional storytelling and story pitching, media relations
gkell@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-3136

Roxanne Makasdjian

Roxanne Makasdjian

Director of broadcast communications
Broadcast media liaison, video news director/producer
roxannem@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-6051

Bob Sanders

Bob Sanders

Manager of science communications
Writer and media relations
Beats: Animal research, astronomy, biology, chemistry, energy, evolution, genetics, geology/earthquakes, mathematics, neuroscience, paleontology, physics, geography
rlsanders@berkeley.edu / @bobthesciguy
(510) 643-6998

Kara Manke

Kara Manke

Science writer and media relations
Beats: Engineering, computer science, agriculture, natural resources, public health, optometry, data science, transportation
kjmanke@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-7741

Yasmin Anwar

Yasmin Anwar

Writer and media relations
Beats: Psychology, cognitive neuroscience, sociology, demography, social welfare, anthropology, linguistics
yanwar@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-7944

Smiling man

Ed Lempinen

Writer and media relations
Beats: Economics, business, education, political science, law, public policy, international affairs international studies
lempinen@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-5651

Ivan Natividad

Ivan Natividad

Writer and media relations
Beats: Architecture, history, environmental design, city & regional planning, ethnic studies, gender & women’s studies, African American studies, disability studies, journalism
ivan.natividad@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-5651

Anne Brice

Anne Brice

Writer and podcast producer, Berkeley News
Beats: Art, theatre, dance, music, libraries, museums
abrice@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-2520

Barbara Boster

Barbara Boster

Editor, Berkeley in the News
bboster@berkeley.edu
(510) 643-8644