People, Research, Technology & engineering, Profiles

Three UC Berkeley faculty members elected to National Academy of Engineering

By Sarah Yang

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) added new members to its ranks today (Tuesday, Feb. 8), and three faculty members at the University of California, Berkeley are among them.

Election to the academy is considered one of the highest professional honors accorded to an engineer, marking outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education.

The new UC Berkeley members and their citations are:

  • Armen Der Kiureghian, Taisei Professor of Civil Engineering, for contributions to risk and reliability and earthquake engineering, and for advancing the practice of civil and structural engineering
  • Jitendra Malik, Arthur J. Chick Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for contributions to computer vision and image analysis
  • Ramamoorthy Ramesh, Plato Malozemoff Chair Professor in Materials Science and Physics, for contributions to the science and technology of functional complex oxide materials

Ramesh is also a faculty senior scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Der Kiureghian, Malik and Ramesh are among 68 new members and nine foreign associates elected to the NAE today. There are now 2,290 U.S. members – 91 total at UC Berkeley – and 202 foreign associates in the academy.

An NAE press statement noted that members are recognized for their “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

A full list of new NAE members is available online.