Awards, Research, People, Technology & engineering, Humanities, Mind & body, Politics & society, Science & environment, Profiles

Ten Berkeley faculty named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

By Robert Sanders

Ten University of California, Berkeley, professors have been named members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a prestigious 233-year-old national honorary society of leaders from academia, business, public affairs and the humanities.

The academy announced the names of its 198 new members today (Wednesday, April 24) at its headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

The 2013 UC Berkeley members are:

  • Alison Gopnik , professor of psychology;
  • Frances Hellman , professor and chair of physics;
  • Jitendra Malik , the Arthur J. Chick Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences;
  • Susan Marqusee , the Warren C. Eveland Endowed Chair Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and director of the UC Berkeley branch of the California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3);
  • David A. Miller , the John F. Hotchkis Professor of English;
  • Hitoshi Murayama , UC Berkeley professor of physics and director of the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe at the University of Tokyo;
  • Pamela Samuelson , the Richard M. Sherman Distinguished Professor of Law and professor in the School of Information;
  • Ann Swidler , professor of sociology;
  • T. Don Tilley, professor of chemistry;
  • Bin Yu , Chancellor’s Professor and professor of statistics and of electrical engineering and computer sciences.

The new election raises the number of academy members on the UC Berkeley faculty to 234.

“Election to the academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” said academy president Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

The 2013 cohort includes winners of the Nobel Prize; National Medal of Science; Lasker Award; Pulitzer and Shaw prizes; Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy and Tony awards. They will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 12, 2013, at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has been a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts and education.