Campus to commemorate those who died during 2012-13

The campus community will gather Wednesday, Sept. 11, for UC Berkeley’s 12th annual memorial to honor those of its own who passed away during the last year.

Campus Memorial Piper

The campus memorial will take place Wednesday, Sept. 11, at the flagpole on the west side of California Hall. (Jean Smith photo)

Members of the campus community — among them faculty and emeriti, students and staff — will be remembered and celebrated with music, poetry and a reading of the names of the deceased.

All are welcome to join Chancellor Nicholas Dirks in attending the ceremony, which will be held from noon to 1 p.m. at the flagpole on the west side of California Hall.

The names of those to be honored at this year’s ceremony are listed below.

If a member of the campus community has been inadvertently omitted, please contact memorial organizers by Friday, Sept. 6.

To view the names of those remembered at last year’s memorial, see the 2011-12 announcement.

In memoriam:

Undergraduate students

Yesenia Banuelos, Letters and Science

Aishwarya Jain, Letters and Science

Cody Johnson, Letters and Science

Jose Felix Mayen, Sociology

Christopher Schad, Letters and Science

Aly Anil Walji, Letters and Science

Graduate students

Larkin Kathleen Brogan, Architecture

Germay Leung, Bioengineering

Stephan “Steve” Garabed Jarjisian, Psychology

Craig David Wolff, Envoironmental Science, Policy and Management

Postdoctoral Scholars

Jascha Benjamin Pohl, Environmental Science, Policy and Management


James Alan “Al” Bassham, Bio-Organic Chemistry Group

Randi Alexandra Engle, Education

John Gaetano Forte, Molecular and Cell Biology

Stuart Jay Freedman, Physics

Joyce Kislitzin Kallgren, Chinese Studies and Institute of East Asian Studies

Joan Keefe, Scandinavian Studies

Norma Kobzina, University Library

Desiree “Desi” Renee Owens, School of Public Health

Viktor Zhivov, Slavic Languages and Literatures


Ricardo Alcaraz, Physical Plant – Campus Services

Shirlaine Baldwin, Graduate Division Degrees Office

Leopoldo Casillas, Physical Plant – Campus Services

Edmond “Ed” Chu, Information Services and Technology

Allan Creighton, University Health Services

Joyce Marie Stanley Cross, Undergraduate Advising

Claire Louise Englander, University Library

debi fidler, Haas School of Business

Jean Gibson, University Library

Patricia “Pattie” Mayeda, University Relations

Karen Marie Meyer, Space Sciences Laboratory

Jacqueline Ann Mintz, GSI Teaching and Resource Center

Jonathan “Jon” Mirsky, Extramural Funds Accounting

Brian Moltrup, Physical Plant – Campus Services

John Momper, School of Social Welfare

Gabrielle S. Morris, Regional Oral History Office

Wanda Ogletree, University Relations

Carol Soc, Graduate Division

Dawn Trecker, ASUC Auxiliary

Ninh “Lena” Trinh, Psychology

Charles “Alex” Warren, University Library

Jeanine “Kay” Williams, University Relations


Paul Alpers, English

Robert “Bob” Bellah, Sociology

Paul Chambré, Nuclear Engineering

John S. Coolidge, English

Michael “Mike” Conant, Haas School of Business

Garniss Hearfield Curtis, Earth and Planetary Science

William Dost, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

Grete W. Frugé Cubie, School of Librarianship

Donald “Don” Glaser, Physics and Molecular and Cell Biology

John Gumperz, Anthropology

Frank Hauser, Mechanical Engineering

Arthur Jensen, School of Education

Harold “Hal” Johnston, Chemistry

Daniel Krummes, Institute of Transportation Studies Library

Wulf B. Kunkel, Physics

Robert “Bob” Lin, Physics and Space Sciences Laboratory

Henry May, History

Woodrow W. Middlekauff, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

Charles “Charlie” Murgia, Classics

Roderic “Rod” Park, Dean and Executive Vice Chancellor Emeritus Letters and Science

Robert Raabe, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

Vincent Sarich, Anthropology

Arnold Schultz, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

Alan Searcy, Materials Science and Engineering

Kenneth Waltz, Political Science

Clarence Weinmann, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

Thomas Wickens, Psychology

Robert Wilensky, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences