Guggenheim fellowships go to eight Berkeley faculty

Eight UC Berkeley faculty are among 178 artists, scientists and scholars nationally who have been awarded 2014 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowships, the foundation has announced. Guggenheim fellowships are awarded for “impressive achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment,” and.provide funding to further recipients’ work in fields ranging from the natural sciences to the creative arts.



This year’s fellows, chosen from nearly 3,000 applicants in the United States and Canada, include 15 researchers and artists from throughout the University of California system. The eight fellows from Berkeley are:

  • Nezar AlSayyad, professor of architecture and city and regional planning, and chair, Center for Middle Eastern Studies: Nile: Urban Histories on the Banks of a River.
  • Jacob Dalton, associate professor of South and Southeast Asian studies and East Asian languages and cultures: The Spread of the Local: Ritual Manuals and the Rise of Tantra.
  • Shannon Jackson, professor of rhetoric and of theater, dance and performance studies, Richard and Rhoda Goldman Chair in the Arts and Humanities and director of the Arts Research Center: The Way We Perform Now.
  • Kent Lightfoot, professor of anthropology: Rethinking Complex Hunter-Gatherers in California.


  • Michael Nylan, professor of history: Translating the Chinese Documents Classic.
  • Austin Roorda, chair, vision science graduate group and professor of optometry and vision science, School of Optometry: Advanced Adaptive Optics to Study Vision.
  • Stephanie Syjuco, artist, assistant professor of sculpture: Fine Arts.
  • Ashvin Vishwanath, professor of physics: Physical Realization of Exotic States of Matter.

Guggenheim fellowships are one-time-only grants made for periods of six months to a year, providing time in which fellows can work with as much creative freedom as possible.

For the complete list of 2014 fellows, visit the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation’s website.