Three Berkeley profs elected to American Philosophical Society

Three UC Berkeley professors have been elected members of the American Philosophical Society. They were elected at the scholarly society’s 2014 spring meeting in Philadelphia, where APS was founded in 1743.

They are:

  • Inez Fung, professor of atmospheric science and co-director of the Berkeley Institute of the Environment;
  • Barbara Meyer, Howard Hughes investigator and professor of genetics, genomics and development.
  • Saul Perlmutter, the Franklin W. and Karen Weber Dabby Professor of Physics and senior staff scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory;

APS also elected a campus visiting scholar:

  • Jerome J. McGann, University of Virginia professor and senior research fellow at UC Berkeley.