People, Profiles

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects six Berkeley faculty

By Public Affairs


Six UC Berkeley faculty have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy has announced. The 197 new academy members include the worlds most accomplishedscholars, scientists, writers, artists and civic, business and philanthropic leaders, among them winners of the Nobel and Pulitzer prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony awards.

Carlos Bustamante

Carlos Bustamante

The new UC Berkeley members are:

  • Carlos Bustamante, professor of molecular and cell biology, physics and chemistry; Raymond and Beverly Sackler professor in biophysics; and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator;
  • John Clarke, professor of physics;
  • Alexei Filippenko, professor of astronomy, Richard and Rhoda Goldman distinguished professor in the physical sciences;
  • John Hartwig, professor of chemistry, Henry Rapoport chair in organic chemistry;
  • Enrique Iglesia, Theodore Vermeulen professor of chemical engineering; faculty senior scientist, chemical sciences division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory;
  • John MacFarlane, professor of philosophy.
Alexei Filippenko

Alexei Filippenko

Also elected as a member of the 2015 cohort was UC President Janet Napolitano, who wasappointed to the faculty of UC Berkeleys Goldman School of Public Policy in December 2014.

The new election raises the number of academy members on the UC Berkeley faculty to 247.

The chair of the academys board of directors, Don Randel, said in a statement, We are honored to elect a new class of extraordinary women and men to join our distinguished membership. Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world.

The American Academy, founded in 1780, is aleadingcenter for independent policy research. Its new class will be inducted Oct. 10 at a ceremony in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

For a complete list of the 2015 members, visit the academys website.