Outstanding staff honored Thursday

Fifteen individual UC Berkeley staff members and the members of three staff teams received the 2015 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA) in a ceremony held yesterday (Thursday, May 7). Chancellor Nicholas Dirks congratulated each recipient, along with Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Claude Steele, Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance John Wilton and Assistant Vice Chancellor for Human Resources Jeannine Raymond.

One of the highest honors bestowed upon campus staff, the COSA award recognizes individual staff and teams who have demonstrated exceptional initiative in contributing to the Berkeley campus community. The Chancellor’s Staff Advisory Committee established the award program in 1988 and administers it each year.

The COSA award ceremony was livestreamed and the video can be viewed here. Descriptions of each of the award recipients’ accomplishments are available on the CSAC website. The winners are:

Individual awards:

  • Joacim Benitez, Haas School of Business
  • Ruben Canedo, Centers for Educational Equity and  Excellence
  • Jon Crumpler, Educational Technology Services
  • Phillip Denny, Blum Center for Developing Economies
  • Mary Elings, Bancroft Library
  • Mark Kinnard, Residential and Housing Services
  • Diana Lizarraga, Cal NERDS Program
  • Teresa McGuire, Graduate School of Education
  • Johanna Metzgar, Office of the Registrar
  • Lisa Min, Social Services, University Health Services
  • Kari Peterson, Student Affairs Business Operations
  • Lisa Peterson, School of Public Health
  • Tiffany Shaleen Reardon, Engineering Student Services
  • James Sanner, Recreational Sports
  • Rebecca Ulrich, Office of Strategic Academic and Facilities Planning

Team award: Asian Pacific American Systemwide Alliance

  • Annalyn Cruz, Learning and Development
  • Glenn DeGuzman, Residential and Housing Services
  • Debbie Fong, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion
  • Roseanne Fong, Letters and Science, Office of Undergraduate Advising
  • Heather Iwata, Admissions and Student Affairs, School of Optometry
  • Maria  Jaochico, Center for Student Conduct
  • Jenny Kwon, Division of Equity and Inclusion
  • Sunny Lee, Ombuds Office for Students and Post Doctoral Appointees
  • Marcia Gee Riley, Ombuds Office for Students and Post Doctoral Appointees
  • Rodolfo Santos, Office of the Registrar
  • Donna Vivar, Educational Opportunity Program
  • Walter Wong, Office of the Registrar

Team award: Berkeley Builds Capacity Project Team

  • Sarah Gamble, Health Promotion, University Health Services
  • Meckell Milburn, Health Promotion, University Health Services
  • Tobirus Newby, Social Services, University Health Services
  • Marie Lim Palo, Health Promotion, University Health Services

Team award: RSSP Think Tank Task Forces 

  • James Carroll, Residential and Housing Services
  • Glenn DeGuzman, Residential and Housing Services
  • Markie Gayles, Residential and Housing Services
  • Joe Gentile, Student Affairs Business Operations
  • Robin Hershkowitz, Residential and Housing Services
  • Nancy Jurich, Residentialand Housing Services
  • Jessica Snider, Residentialand Housing Services