Awards, People

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects nine Berkeley faculty members

Historian, political scientist and nuclear physicist among new UC Berkeley members

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 213 new members, including nine UC Berkeley faculty members.

The total number of academy members at UC Berkeley now stands at 243. The new members are:

Andrew E. Barshay, the Dr. C. F. Koo and Cecilia Koo Chair in East Asian Studies and a professor of history who specializes in modern Japan;

Robert Full, a professor of integrative biology who studies the biomechanics of animals ranging from cockroaches to geckos, and applies these findings to the design of robots;

Robert M. Glaeser, a professor emeritus of molecular and cell biology, a biochemist and microscopist;

Barbara V. Jacak, a professor of physics and director of the Nuclear Science Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where she focuses on the experimental study of quark gluon plasma;

Jay D. Keasling, the Hubbard Howe Jr. Distinguished Professor of Biochemical Engineering and a professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and of bioengineering. A pioneer in synthetic biology, he is CEO of the Joint BioEnergy Institute and director of the physical biosciences division at Berkeley Lab;

Ulrike Malmendier, the Edward J. and Mollie Arnold Professor of Finance at the Haas School of Business and a professor of economics, who focuses on corporate finance and behavioral economics;

Eva Nogales, a professor of molecular and cell biology, investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and faculty senior scientist at Berkeley Lab, who uses cryo-electron microscopy and other techniques to determine the structure of large molecules;

Paul Pierson, the John Gross Professor of Political Science, who specializes in American politics and public policy, comparative political economy and social theory;

Scott J. Shenker, a professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences and chief scientist at the International Computer Science Institute, who focuses on Internet architecture.

Also among the newly elected are novelist Colm Tóibín, La Opinión Publisher and CEO Monica Lozano, jazz saxophonist Wayne Shorter, former Botswana President Festus Mogae and author and spokesperson for autism Temple Grandin.

“It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, chair of the academy’s board of directors. “Their election affords us an invaluable opportunity to bring their expertise and knowledge to bear on some of the most significant challenges of our day. We look forward to engaging these new members in the work of the academy.”

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world.

Visit the academy website to read a complete list of the new members.