Awards, People

Six faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

6 new NAS members
New NAS members, clockwise from upper left, Peidong Yang, Susan Marqusee, Ian Agol, Krishna Niyogi, Robert Glaeser and Steven Evans.

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates, including six from UC Berkeley.

The academy is the most prestigious scientific society in the U.S., established under a congressional charter signed by Abraham Lincoln in 1863. With the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council, the NAS provides science, technology and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

UC Berkeley is currently home to 149 NAS members.

The six newly elected members are:

Ian Agol, a professor of mathematics;

Steven Evans, a professor of statistics and mathematics;

Robert Glaeser, a professor emeritus of molecular and cell biology and a senior scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory;

Susan Marqusee, the Eveland Warren Endowed Chair in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and director of the Berkeley branch of the California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3);

Krishna Niyogi, a professor and chair of plant and microbial biology, an investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and a faculty scientist at Berkeley Lab; and

Peidong Yang, the S.K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Professor of Energy in the Department of Chemistry and a Berkeley Lab faculty scientist.

Read the National Academy of Sciences announcement