Three faculty named to the American Philosophical Society

Three UC Berkeley professors have been honored with election to the American Philosophical Society. They are:

Claude FischerClaude Fischer, a professor emeritus of sociology. He is best known for his work on urban and community studies, inequality, social networks and personal relationships and social change in American history. His books include America Calling: A Social History of the Telephone to 1940 (1992), Made in America: A Social History of American Culture and Character (2010) and Still Connected: Family and Friends in America since 1970 (2011).

David HollingerDavid Hollinger, a professor emeritus of history. His expertise centers on the intellectual and ethnoracial history of the United States since the Civil War.
Hollinger also has been named a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science, a Guggenheim Fellow, a fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, a member of the Institute for Advanced Study, and Harmsworth Professor of the University of Oxford. He is a past president of the Organization of American Historians (2010-2011).

Hollinger’s books include Post-Ethnic America: Beyond Multiculturalism (third edition, 2006) and Cosmopolitanism and Solidarity (2006). His writings have been published in the journals Daedalus, the London Review of Books, Representations, Callallo and the Journal of American Ethnic History.

John ClarkeJohn Clarke, a professor of the graduate school in physics and a Berkeley Lab scientist. He is noted for his work on superconductivity, particularly the development and application of ultrasensitive SQUIDs (superconducting quantum interference devices). He has used SQUIDs in many applications, including detection of NMR signals at ultralow frequencies; geophysics; nondestructive evaluation of materials; biosensors; detection of dark matter; and observing “qubits” for a potential quantum computer.

Clarke is a fellow of the Royal Society of London, the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Institute of Physics (UK). He has been a Sloan Foundation Fellow, a Guggenheim Fellow and a Miller Professor. In 1987, he was named California Scientist of the Year and was awarded the Fritz London Prize for research in low-temperature physics. In 1998, he received the American Physical Society’s Joseph F. Keithley Award for Advances in Measurement Science and, in 1999, the National Academy of Sciences’ Comstock Prize for Physics. He was awarded the Hughes Medal of the Royal Society in 2004, and was the UC Berkeley Faculty Research Lecturer in 2005.

The APS, the first learned society in the United States, has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for more than 250 years. A scholarly organization, it promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, support of young scholars, publications, library resources, a museum and community outreach.

Berkeley’s three join former President Barack Obama among 32 newly elected members of the APS. View the full list on the APS website.